Introvertism

    So I’m going to step on my soap box and rant… The other day I was talking to someone and he said “I don’t get introverts, they miss out on a big great world around them” and as a self-proclaimed introvert myself it kinda angered me.

    Missing out on a world was the least of my problems and for him to think that I was, was certainly untrue. Quite frankly, I have completed over half of my bucket list! So there was no missing out going on here!

     I feel people don’t understand introverts. I live in a household of extroverts and so me enjoying being cooped up in my room baffles them. But being in my cocoon of blankets makes me happy.

     I don’t enjoy social events, people overwhelm me. Now, that doesn’t mean I don’t go to parties or don’t enjoy peoples company. But it does mean that one-on-one time with people is much appreciated. I’d much rather be with one person than a group of seventy or a hundred.

I’d like everyone to watch this video

but I understand you all are busy people and after all , this was a lenghty post. If you don’t have the time to watch it, at least read this part of it….

“Now to see the bias clearly you need to understand what introversion is. It’s different from being shy. Shyness is about fear of social judgment. Introversion is more about, how do you respond to stimulation, including social stimulation. So extroverts really crave large amounts of stimulation, whereas introverts feel at their most alive and their most switched-on and their most capable when they’re in quieter, more low-key environments. Not all the time — these things aren’t absolute — but a lot of the time. So the key then to maximizing our talents is for us all to put ourselves in the zone of stimulation that is right for us.

But now here’s where the bias comes in. Our most important institutions, our schools and our workplaces, they are designed mostly for extroverts and for extroverts’ need for lots of stimulation. And also we have this belief system right now that I call the new groupthink, which holds that all creativity and all productivity comes from a very oddly gregarious place.”

    I want people to understand introverts. I’m not for our rights. It’s not as complicated as gay marriage or gender equality… But I want people to accept us that being introvert isn’t wrong or bad. We are just different. 

 

-Kristan

Leave a Reply

