The Reasons I’m Choosing to Stay Single

So today, I was reading a blog and the post was urging people to marry young. While young marriage can be great, I feel that whatever’s meant to be will work out perfectly (cue the bridge of Avril Lavigne’s Keep Holding On).Β  I know people that have been married since they were 15 or 16 and that worked out great for them. But I also know people who are 30 and still single. I feel that you should know when you are ready to be married. But for now, my intentions are not to be married for a long time.

Here are a few reasons for this….

1) I have goals I want to accomplish.

I really want to graduate college with a child psychology degree. I want to write my book, The Working Title. I also want to have a stable career. Not that a husband won’t support it or would stop the process, I just feel that a serious relationship/husband would prolong me from reaching these goals.

2) I want to be self sufficient.

I don’t want to have to rely on my parents or family or even a husband to take care of my family. Tragedies happen, and the reality of it is I need to be prepared for that. Whether it be divorce, death, or being laid off; I want to be able to be able to step up as a main provider in my family.

3) I’m not ready.

The truth of the matter is, I’m still working on myself. I was in an awful place and I’m still recovering. I feel that I’m a lot closer than I was 5 years ago but I’m still not there yet.

4) If my Prince Charming is here, he can wait.

I feel that if he’s “the one”,Β he will always be “the one”. He’ll be “the one” in 5 years, he’ll be “the one” in 10 years. He’s not going to go away.

5) I want to guard my heart

My last relationships were rough. I gave my heart to guys I felt loved me but in all honesty, they didn’t. They didn’t value me. I’m the type of person who give someone all of me. I open myself to you. I show you the good, the bad. I let you into my inner world and I can’t let some one in there who doesn’t see how important that place is to me.

Now, basically, I am not going to swear off guys that’s not what I am say. All I am saying is that it’s not my priority. He’ll come when he comes and I am open to whatever will happen.

 

-kas

One thought on “The Reasons I’m Choosing to Stay Single

Leave a Reply

