Being a Liberal Christian

I’ve been heard people say, “you can’t a good Christian & a democrat.” But to me, that’s not true. I’m a proud Christian and a proud democrat. I believe in the Lord Jesus Christ is my Savior, but I also believe that our country need tighter gun control.

I believe a lot in a lot of things. One of my top beliefs is the one I hold in freedom. I believe in the freedom to praise my God how, when, where I want to and that other get to have the same right as well. Freedom to choose the fate of your unborn child, freedom to marry the person that you so choose, freedom to say what you want, and express it as you feel.

Just because I believe a girl should have the right to marry girl or boy, doesn’t make me a bad Christian. It just means I believe in freedom for all. Not just Christians.

What conservative Christians fail to realize is that just because I believe that we should have the right to do so, does not mean that I agree that it right. For example, I hate the idea of abortions. If I had an unexpected pregnancy, there’s no way I’d be able to abort with a clear conscious. But, it is not my place to say that no one else can or should do. So believe in a woman’s right to choose.

I saw this picture on the internet and  it says, “the world says you should respect every religion, but the Bible says “Thou shall not have any gods before Me” ” While yes, The Bible said not have anything before Him (and I don’t,) that doesn’t mean He wants you to not respect someone despite their difference.  The Bible also said  in Mark 12:30 and 31″Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”  Luke 6:37 says “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.” And Ephesian 4:32 says “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

None of these verses don’t say “only if their beliefs align with yours,” he says loving each other is the  most important thing that we are to do. God loves everyone one of us, not just those who choose to serve Him.

I’m not trying to say that being Republican is bad. I’m not. I’m tired of people calling each other names because they don’t agree with someone’s beliefs. Stop that, we aren’t children. I am a firm believer in voting according to your values. What I am saying is to  love one another, just as He has loved us. (John 13:34) Don’t judge people because they live their lives differently than you. More than anything, please for the love of all things good, stop saying “you can’t a good Christian & a democrat.”

Leave a Reply

