Here’s why I am voting for Hillary Clinton

Let’s be real ever since Donald Trump made his speech announcing that he was running for president, I was appalled by him. I said at that moment there was a snowballs chance in hell that he would get my vote.

But due to the fact that I know a great deal on the sociology of voting, I have been search of who I wanted to vote for. Some of concern was that most people vote according to the party trends of their parents, grandparents, and great grandparents. The other thing is most people will say that they are either democrat or republican and vote according to that word that they label themselves as, instead of who they actually supports their ideals. So in the spirit of finding out who I really support, I took this quiz. I encourage everyone to take it, undecided or not.

Here’s what it came up with:

2016-10-12 (2).png

100 frickin’ percent. Here are some of things that I’m with her about:

  • Federal requirement to vaccinate
    • My view on this is based on my sister. My sister had leukemia and chemo made it so she was unable to get vaccinated (though there are a multitude of reasons why some children are unable to vaccinate.) I believe all kids that are able to be vaccinated, should be vaccinated. When you choose to not vaccinate your babies, you are choosing put them and those around them at risk of getting some illnesses, which were practically extinct.  People’s fear of vaccination comes from the silly thought that it  caused paralyzation or autism. But let me tell you, that theory is bunk. As a person who is involved in a lot of research studies, I know that even if one person dies even if the cause is unrelated you have to list it under side effects. For instance let’s take paralysis, John goes to be apart of a research study on a new medication. After meeting with the researchers, John gets in a car wreck that paralyzes him from the neck down. The researchers may know that their drug did not in any way cause the paralysis, but they are obligated to put it as a possible side effect. That’s why we take medications with the side effect of dying and never die because of them.
  • Tougher gun control
    • The response to all these mass shooting can no longer be a simple apology to their family members. An apology won’t bring them back, nor will it help prevent it from happening again. I know people are saying things like  “Cain killed Abel with a stone,” which is true. But until we have a mass stoning, I think we can wait on stone control. Guns are a simple and easy way to kill someone in one second. There’s so many stories of kids and even dogs that accidentally shoot their parents. Modern day massacres, though can be done by other methods as seen in Columbine, the majority of mass deaths are due to guns. They are so easy to get your hands on and use. There has to be was to ensure that the crazies don’t get guns!
  • More affordable college
    • As a current student with a mountain of debt that is only bound to grow, I want to make college as cheap as possible. Not just for me, but for my future children. I don’t want them drowning in a sea of debt being unable to pursue their dreams because they are busy paying back their loans. I don’t think it should be free, but I do think it should be more affordable.
  • Pro-choice
    • Now as an advocate for adoption, I don’t think I could ever go through an abortion. It’s definitely not the easy way out. No way to having a baby is “easy.” But just because it’s not right for me, doesn’t mean it’s not what’s right for others. There are circumstances which abortion is the only way to save the mother’s life, there are babies with inoperable tumors, there’s so many different factors. I’d like to say I would never have an abortion, but I’ve never been in the place to make that decision. I would like to think that if I was though, it would be a decision made between my partner and I  (along with the advice of a medical team) alone.
  • Pro-LGBTQIA+
    • Though I’m not a part of the LGBTQIA+ community, I support them. Why? As a cisgender straight woman, I know what’s right for me isn’t right for everyone. Plus, Pence took money from the state of Indiana’s HIV research and put it toward gay conversion therapy, which is ludicrous. There are people that have HIV that aren’t gay. Plus there isn’t any proof that conversion therapy has any positive effect on a person, so why do it? It’s wrong to prevent someone from living a happy life with the one they love just because you don’t agree with it.

People say that I shouldn’t vote for her just because she’s a woman. Well, I’m not. I’m voting for her because she’s a woman that’ll get stuff done. All the bad things that people have said about Hillary have been debunked. While some of the other stuff like Bill’s affair, doesn’t simply pertain to this election (just like Melania’s  centerfold nudey doesn’t pertain to this election.) Maybe she’s not the perfect candidate for president, but there will never be. I’m with her because I believe in her values, but also because mi jente are not “bad hombres,” we are good, hard working, educated citizens ready to vote!

Leave a Reply

