Why I am a whiny liberal who just won’t “get over it”

Dear Conservatives,

I’m not mad because Hillary lost. I’m not mad just because I didn’t get my way. I’m not throwing a tantrum because I’m a whiny delicate snowflake who is used to getting everything I want, when I want it.

Yeah, it’s sucks that the first time I voted it didn’t go the way I had hoped. But that’s not why I’m mad. I’m mad because bigotry won. I’m mad because hate won. I’m mad because xenophobia won. I’m mad because homophobia won. I’m mad because racism won. I’m mad because sexism won. I mad because it seems like all the progress we made at acceptance and equality in the last eight years may soon be lost. I am mad because this little orange man had instilled fear in all Americans, whether in his favor or not. I’m mad because he has normalized hate.

That’s why I am mad, that’s why I can not simply shut up. If any other Republican was elected, while I may not have been happy with the results, I wouldn’t speak up about it. If Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, or John Kasich had been elected, I would be fine staying silent.

But with Donald, he has shown time and time again that he has zero regard for anyone who is not the wealthy white man. The attacks on minorities that have already happened since his election is inexcusable. So no, I can’t just get over it.

You can’t tell me everything will be okay. Maybe for you it will be, because he will protect your precious guns. Maybe for you it will be, because he will lower your taxes while raising them for the middle class. Maybe for you it will be, because you have this unrealistic idea that all Muslims, Hispanics, or LGBTQIA+ members are awful people ruining this country. But for me, I’m not sure it will be okay. I’m not sure if racism, xenophobia, homophobia, or sexism will  diminish or grow. I’m not sure what this means for my safety or the safety of those I love.

Now, I know not all of Trump supporters are racists, xenophobics, homophobics, sexists, and/or bigots but all of them decided that being one isn’t a deal-breaker for our president and that is not okay.

That’s why I’ll speak up, that’s why I won’t just ignore it, that’s why I can’t move on. Moving on is accepting that this is okay, and it’s not. I want the world to know I’m not okay with it, this is not the America I want. This is not the America I want my kids to grow up in. So fine, call me whiny.. I don’t care. It doesn’t begin compare to the names y’all have already called me because of my brown skin.

Sincerely,

a “beaner libratard snowflake”

(aka a Mexican Democrat Millennial)

Leave a Reply

