MTMM: September

“September” by Earth, Wind & Fire

I can imagine it now. It’s a hot summer day, we’re driving down the highway, jammed pack into a rental car, hopping from one state to another on our annual family road trip. My brother and I are snacking Β on whatever we could get our hands on. My mom is searching on her phone for our next adventure, then this song comes on…

My dad is driving and as this song comes on he’s messing with the dials to make the perfect mix of bass and treble. My mom, my brother, and I are dancing and singing without a care in the world as my dad calmly bobs his head.

“C’mon, dad. Dance with us, dance with us.” We would plead until cave and groove his head ever so slightly more. He’d tell us, this is what real music. When I was younger, I don’t think I believed him. But now, I firmly agreed.

This is real music. It’s joy. It’s groove. It evokes emotion. It makes it impossible to forget. The bass, the rhythm, the melody. You know the moment that song comes on, that’s your jam.

This song has become a part of the soundtrack of my life. An irreplaceable part to the story telling of who I am. Just a girl dancing through adventures basking in the summer sun with my family.

Favorite Lyric:

“There was a
Ba de ya – say do you remember
Ba de ya – dancing in September
Ba de ya – golden dreams were shiny days

Ba de ya de ya de ya
Ba de ya de ya de ya
ba de ya de ya de ya
De ya”

Leave a Reply

