MTMM: You’ve Got a Friend

“You’ve Got a Friend” by Carole King and James Taylor

My earliest memory I have of this song is when I was probably about 12 or 13. My dad was watching the Live at the Troubadour episode and this song come on.

“Right, babe, this is our song,” my mom says “right, babe?”. My dad just nods his head. “Babe, let’s dance.” He gets up and they sway back and forth until the song ends.

Once the song is over, my parents tell me the story of the relationship. They told me how they always knew they could call on each other no matter what.  They told me that there beginnings as friends carried on to ever part of their relationship and how it just made their bond stronger.

From that moment, this song was engraved in my mind as my parent’s “song.” It reminds me that in their darkest of times their bond as friends carried them through everything together. It reminds me of the sweetest part of their relationship and how they’d do anything for each other, at anytime. It reminds me of their love.

Favorite Lyrics:

“If the sky above you should turn dark and full of clouds
and that old north wind should begin to blow,
keep your head together and call my name out loud.
Soon I will be knocking upon your door.
You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there.”

 

Leave a Reply

