MTMM: Stop This Train

“Stop This Train” by: John Mayer

This song has always been one of my favorite John Mayers songs. When I was younger my love for this song mainly stemmed from the melody and how soft, yet happy this song seemed. But as I grew up, my love for this song did too.

While all the other little girls couldn’t wait to grow up and be 16, 18, or 20, I was fine staying put. Being a kid was great to me, besides adulthood always seemed sucky and not fun. On the eve of my 18th birthday, I was filled with dread. I didn’t want to be an adult, I didn’t want to forge my own path on my own. I wanted my momma and my pops and I was perfectly okay admitting that.

I remember having a talk with my own dad, kinda like the one John Mayer mentions in his song. I told my dad I don’t want to grow up. I wasn’t ready for change. My dad pointed to the bracelet I had on my hand and he said “life is like your bracelet, it gets faded but you learn to love it anyway.” That is something that stuck to me.

Despite us growing and changing, there is beauty to be found and each stage of life. You learn to love watching yourself master things and accomplish big goals. But you also get to watch the next generation grow up, you get to raise one too. Eventually your kids will too. It’s a beautiful cycle, we just have to find the beauty in each stage. You have to learn to love the ride your on, because you’ll never be able to stop this train.

Favorite Lyrics:

“So scared of getting older
I’m only good at being young
So I play the numbers game to find a way to say that life has just begun
Had a talk with my old man
Said, “Help me understand.”
He said, “Turn 68,
you’ll renegotiate
Don’t stop this train
Don’t for a minute change the place you’re in
Don’t think I couldn’t ever understand
I tried my hand
John, honestly, we’ll never stop this train.” ”

Leave a Reply

